29. October 2016

Cent­ral Fest­iv­al Ville, Bangkok, Thai­l­and

Late last year a huge shop­ping mall called Cent­ral Fest­iv­al East Ville opened in the east of Bangkok. The inten­tion of the oper­at­ors was to build a shop­ping centre with an offer that ranges bey­ond the typ­ic­al con­sump­tion options. Under the head­ing “Bangkok Escape”, the stressed and traffic-plagued res­id­ents of the city were meant to find peace and relax­a­tion here. In addi­tion to a jog­ging track on the roof, there is also a kids’ area on sev­er­al floors since the sum­mer of 2016. In the so-called FAMPLAYLAND kids can devel­op their phys­ic­al, men­tal and social skills in a pro­tec­ted envir­on­ment at 10 dif­fer­ent “Activ­ity sta­tions”.

The absolute highlight is a nearly 9-metre tall climbing tower with a 118-m³ large three dimensional climbing net inside. The tower extends across three levels of the FAMPLAYLAND and comprises six stacked room-cell layers. To ensure the necessary safety, the exterior is enveloped with a synthetic net. On the top-most floor, an approx. 8-metre long tunnel slide is attached and ensures a speedy descent.

The customer was searching for play equipment that optimally matches the conditions of the play area. Based on the relatively small base area and a ceiling height of 10.5 meters, a spatial net leant itself to perfectly utilise the space. “The decisive source of inspiration for that came from the Berliner space net at the Swarovski headquarters which also spans several levels” remembers Eukrit Kraikosol, Head of Operations at Park & Garden and co-operator of the FAMPLAYLAND.

“In contrast to Swarovski, the indoor area of the shopping mall did not have any connection options for tensioning points,” says Marius Kotte, architect at Berliner Seilfabrik and Head of Construction and Development. “The solution was the anchoring of the 8.5-metre tall steel posts into the floor that form the outer shell of the tower. The clamping elements could be attached to the posts within the structure. The upper clamping balls were brought into the correct position with anchoring cables,” explains Marius Kotte. That way, the climbing tower in the FAMPLAYLAND is the highest free-standing indoor installation of a space net.

In addition to the optimal utilisation of the available space, the climbing tower also conceptionally fits very well into the kid’s area of the Central Festival Eastville. Climbing in the three-dimensional space challenges and supports the children. It helps them to develop their psychomotoric skills and their three-dimensional powers of imagination. “The tower is a suitable challenge for the kids and gives them the feeling of having achieved something, when they reach the top of the tower. Then the slide is the perfect reward to descend the net,” summarises Eukrit Kraikosol.

29. Oktober 2016

Cen­tral Fes­ti­val Vil­le, Bang­kok, Thai­land

Ende letz­ten Jah­res eröff­ne­te im Osten von Bang­kok unter dem Namen Cen­tral Fes­ti­val East Vil­le eine rie­si­ge Shop­ping Mall. Die Inten­ti­on der Betrei­ber war es, ein Ein­kaufs­zen­trum zu errich­ten, des­sen Ange­bot über die übli­chen Kon­sum­mög­lich­kei­ten hin­aus­reicht. Unter dem Mot­to „Bang­kok Escape“ soll­ten die stress- und ver­kehrs­ge­plag­ten Ein­woh­ner der Haupt­stadt hier Ruhe und Erho­lung fin­den. Neben einer Jog­ging-Stre­cke auf dem Dach gibt es seit Som­mer 2016 auch einen Kin­der­be­reich, der sich über meh­re­re Eta­gen erstreckt. Im so genann­te FAMPLAYLAND kön­nen Kin­der in geschütz­ter Umge­bung an 10 ver­schie­de­nen „Activi­ty-Sta­ti­ons“ ihre phy­si­schen, men­ta­len und sozia­len Fähig­kei­ten ent­wi­ckeln.

Absolutes Highlight ist ein knapp 9 Meter hoher Kletterturm mit einem 118 m³ großen Raumnetz im Innern. Der Turm erstreckt sich über alle drei Etagen des FAMPLAYLAND und besteht aus sechs übereinander gestapelten Raumzellen-Schichten. Um die notwendige Sicherheit zu gewährleisten ist die Außenseite mit einem Kunststoffnetz ummantelt. In der obersten Etage ist eine ca. 8 Meter lange Tunnelrutsche angebracht und sorgt für einen rasanten Abgang.

Der Kunde war auf der Suche nach einem Spielgerät, welches den Begebenheiten des Spielbereichs bestmöglich gerecht wird. Ausgehend von einer relativ kleinen Grundfläche und einer 10,5 Meter hohen Deckenhöhe, bot sich ein Raumnetz an, um den vorhandenen Platz perfekt zu nutzen. „Die entscheidende Inspirationsquelle dafür bot das Berliner Raumnetz im Headquarter von Swarovski, welches sich ebenfalls über mehrere Etagen erstreckt.“, erinnert sich Eukrit Kraikosol, Head of Operations bei Park and Garden und Mitbetreiber von FAMPLAYLAND.

„Anders als bei Swarovski waren im Indoorbereich der Shopping Mall keine Anschlagmöglichkeiten für Spannpunkte vorhanden.“, sagt Marius Kotte, Architekt bei der Berliner Seilfabrik und Leiter der Konstruktion und Entwicklung. „Die Lösung lag in der Verankerung der 8,5 Meter hohen Stahlpfosten im Boden, die das Außengerüst des Turmes bilden. Die Spannkugeln konnten innerhalb des Gerüstes an den Pfosten angeschlossen werden. Die oberen Kugeln sind durch Abspannseile in die richtige Position gebracht worden.“, so Marius Kotte. Damit ist der Kletterturm im FAMPLAYLAND die höchste freistehende Indoor-Installation eines Raumnetzes.

Neben der optimalen Nutzung des vorhandenen Raumes, passt der Kletterturm auch konzeptionell sehr gut in den Kinderbereich des Central Festival Eastville. Das Klettern im dreidimensionalen Raum fordert und fördert die Kinder. Es hilft ihnen dabei, ihre psychomotorischen Fähigkeiten und ihr dreidimensionales Vorstellungsvermögen zu entwickeln. „Der Turm ist eine angemessene Herausforderung für die Kids und es gibt ihnen ein Gefühl, etwas erreicht zu haben, wenn sie an der Spitze des Turmes angekommen sind. Die Rutsche ist dann die perfekte Belohnung für den Aufstieg durch das Netz“, fasst Eukrit Kraikosol zusammen.