Lüders Park’N’Play in Kopenhagen

Since last year’s late summer, the new playground called Park’N’Play towers above Copenhagen’s harbour scenery in bright red. What is special: it is located 24m above sea level on the roof of a car park and thereby sets new standards in the way people think about designing public spaces.

This project’s challenge was to create centrally located parking facilities that optimally integrate into the surroundings of the modern Nordhavn city district which is characterised by luxury and lifestyle. The architecture firm JAJA Architects solved this challenge in cooperation with UNO and Berliner Seilfabrik by designing a building that ‘does not only need space but simultaneously also provides space’, explains Kathrin Susanna Gimmel, the leading architect and co-founder of JAJA. The result is a car park which has a multifunctional character due to its extraordinary façade and roof design.

  • Custom-made - Kletterpyramide

  • Custom-made - Kletterpyramide

Inspired by the staircases on the exterior of the iconic Centre Pompidou in Paris, a flight of stairs rises up from the ground floor across the long sections on the north and south side of the car park up to the roof. The red handrail of the stairs continues on the roof and is integrated like a ‘red thread’ in the various play structures. It thereby serves as a key element in the swings, benches and monkey bars. It finally leads visitors to the absolute highlight of the rooftop playground: a nearly 8m-tall rope jungle gym by the company Berliner Seilfabrik.

The ascent is made via a black flat net that winds around a mid-mast like a spiral and gets narrower and finally tapers off towards the top. The idea of a ‘red thread’ is also continued in this structure: In this case, it runs through the outer side of the flat net as a curved steel pipe and is a fastening element for the rope web at the same time.

‘The challenge in constructing the pyramid was to use the existing roof structure as a solid anchor without damaging the properties of the roof’s cladding’, says Marius Kotte, Director of the Berliner Seilfabrik’s department of Construction & Development. ‘The solution was the large number of a total of 16 anchor points. That way, the arising tensile forces are optimally distributed and the permeation of the roof structure was minimised.’

It is also noteworthy that the structure only has a maximum fall height of 2.10m despite its total height of nearly 8m. That is thanks to its shape: as the flat nets are wider at the bottom than at the top, a net would always catch you should you fall.

No one doubts that the rooftop playground is a total success. ‘There are always people up here on the roof,’ says Gimmel, ‘even on a cold winter’s day in December.’

Lüders Park’N’Play in Kopenhagen

Seit Spätsommer letzten Jahres erstreckt sich der neue Spielplatz mit dem Namen Park’N’Play in leuchtendem Rot über der Hafenkulisse Kopenhagens. Das Besondere: er befindet sich 24 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel auf dem Dach eines Parkhauses und setzt damit neue Maßstäbe im Verständnis der Gestaltung öffentlicher Räume.

Die Herausforderung dieses Projektes bestand darin, zentral gelegene Parkmöglichkeiten zu schaffen, welche sich bestmöglich in die Umgebung des modernen, und von Luxus und Lifestyle geprägten Stadtteils Nordhavns einfügen. Das  Architektenbüro JAJA Architects löste diese Herausforderung, indem ein Haus konzipiert wurde, welches „nicht nur Platz benötigt, sondern gleichzeitig Platz spendet“, so die federführende Architektin und Mitgründerin von JAJA Kathrin Susanna Gimmel. Das Ergebnis ist ein Parkhaus, welches durch seine außergewöhnliche Fassaden- und Dachgestaltung einen multifunktionalen Charakter erfährt.

Beeinflusst von den Treppenhäusern auf der Außenseite des ikonischen Centre Pompidou in Paris, steigt eine Treppe aus dem Erdgeschoss über die langen Abschnitte auf der Nord- und Südseite des Parkhauses bis auf das Dach. Der rote Handlauf des Treppenaufstieges setzt sich auf dem Dach fort und ist wie ein „Roter Faden“ in die unterschiedlichsten Spielstrukturen integriert. So dient er als tragendes Element von Schaukeln, Bänken und Hangelmöglichkeiten. Schließlich führt er den Besucher zum absoluten Highlight des Dach-Spielplatzes: Einer knapp 8 Meter hohen Kletterpyramide aus dem Hause der Berliner Seilfabrik.

Als Aufstieg dient ein schwarzes Flächennetz, welches sich spiralförmig um einen Mittelmast „windet“ und mit zunehmender Höhe immer schmaler und schließlich spitz zu läuft. Auch in dieser Skulptur wird die Idee des „Roten Fadens“ fortgesetzt: Diesmal verläuft er an der Außenseite des Flächennetzes als gebogenes Stahlrohr und ist gleichzeitig Befestigungselement für das Netz.

„Die Herausforderung bei der Konstruktion der Pyramide bestand darin, die vorhandene Dachkonstruktion zur festen Verankerung zu nutzen, ohne dabei die Eigenschaften der Dachhaut zu beschädigen.“, sagt Marius Kotte, Leiter der Abteilung Konstruktion und Entwicklung bei der Berliner Seilfabrik. „Die Lösung lag in der hohen Zahl von insgesamt 16 Abspannpunkten. Dadurch verteilen sich die auftretenden Zugkräfte bestmöglich und der Eingriff in die Dachkonstruktion konnte minimiert werden.“

Bemerkenswert ist zudem, dass die Struktur trotz einer Höhe von knapp 8 Metern, eine freie Fallhöhe von nur 2,10 Metern aufweißt. Dies ist der Form selbst geschuldet: Indem die Flächennetze im unteren Bereich breiter sind als oben, würde man bei einem Sturz immer in ein darunterliegendes Netz fallen.v